for all your snowboarding needs

Follow On Social Media

Winter Dew Tour Nike Open Superpipe Results And Recap



Snowboarding News | Sunday December 18, 2011 | Shared By: Francesca Basile

Shaun White,  Kelly Clark Win Snowboarding Superpipe Finals at the Winter Dew Tour Nike Open In Breckenridge CO

The Winter Dew Tour Nike Open hosted an action-packed day of finals on their record-breaking superpipe under bluebird skies at Breckenridge today.  Men’s snowboard finals capped off a day of sun, snow and high-energy crowds as the riders brought their best runs to the 602-foot long behemoth of a superpipe.  Shaun White set the tone early on with a run that proved unbeatable through the second heat.  He boosted out of the pipe with a 27 foot backside air, followed by a frontside double cork 900, backside 540, frontside stalefish 540, and a double McTwist 1260.  His technical and stylish run ended with an alley-oop backside rodeo.  “I’m so happy to put that run down and make it count, get the win and start the season off right,” said White following the contest.  White had nothing but good things to say about the superpipe, noting that it helped to ramp up the level of riding.  “You can go a lot bigger and carry down the line,” he said.  “I’m blown away by Breckenridge delivering such an amazing pipe.  It’s one of the best I’ve ever ridden.”

Preceding the men’s contest, women’s snowboard superpipe finals featured tight competition that came down to Kelly Clark’s final run.  After Clark tapped the deck on her first run, Gretchen Bleiler took a solid hold of the lead with a run that included her signature crippler.  As the last rider to drop, Clark focused in and landed a run that included a frontside inverted 720, a cab 720, frontside 540, backside 540, and frontside 900, ending with a huge backside air that drew loud cheers from the crowd.  Clark credited the Nike Open’s record-breaking superpipe as a contributing factor to the contest’s excitement.  “This is the longest pipe we’ve ever ridden and it makes for a progressive contest because no one’s trying to squeak all of their tricks in,” she said.  “There’s plenty of room to do every combination that you want to do.”  The win puts Clark in the lead to defend her reign as the Dew Cup champion.  “I couldn’t have had a better start to my season,” she said.  “But I think more importantly than doing well, I’m happy with the way I’m riding.”

Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Final Results:

1. Shaun White, Carlsbad, Calif., 95.00.  2. Louie Vito, Bellefontaine, Ohio, 92.75.  3. Iouri Podlachikov, Switzerland, 90.00.  4. Christian Haller, Switzerland, 88.00.  5. Kohei Kudo, Japan, 86.00.  6. Matt Ladley, Steamboat Spring, Colo., 84.00.  7. Steve Fisher, Breckenridge, Colo., 79.75.  8. Keito Kumazaki, Japan, 55.75.  9. Kazuhiro Kokubo, Japan, 47.75.  10. Scott Lago, Seabrook, N.H., 40.00.  11. Luke Mitrani, Mammoth Lakes, Calif., 24.25.  12. Danny Davis, Highland, Mich., 18.25.

Men’s Snowboard Superpipe  – Tour Rankings:

1. Shaun White, 100.  2. Louie Vito, 90.  3. Iouri Podlachikov, 82.  4. Christian Haller, 76.  5. Kohei Kudo, 72.  6. Matt Ladley, 68.  7. Steve Fisher, 64.  8. Keito Kumazaki, 60.  9. Kazuhiro Kokubo, 56.  10. Scott Lago, 52.

Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Final Results:

1. Kelly Clark, West Dover, Vt., 91.25.  2. Gretchen Bleiler, Aspen, Colo., 90.25.  3. Xuetong Cai, China, 85.00.  4. Maddy Schaffrick, Steamboat Springs, Colo., 80.00.  5. Kaitlyn Farrington, Sun Valley, Id., 70.00.  6. Queralt Castellet, Spain, 54.50.

Women’s Snowboard Superpipe  – Tour Rankings:

1. Kelly Clark, 100.  2. Gretchen Bleiler, 90.  3. Zuetong Cai, 82.  4. Maddy Schaffrick, 76.  5. Kaitlyn Farrington, 72.  6. Queralt Castellet, 68.  7. Holly Crawford, 64.  8. Haruna Matsumoto, 60.  9. Soko Yamaoka, 56.  10. Elena Hight, 52.

You can catch all of the final runs from today’s top finishers here.

For more information on the Dew Tour, visit

The remaining stops of the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour are scheduled as follows:

 Event                                                Date                        Location

Nike Open                                    Dec. 15-18            Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.

Pantech Invitational                        Jan. 19-22            Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.          

Toyota Championships                        Feb. 9-12            Snowbasin Resort – Ogden,Utah

 Entering its fourth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the eight disciplines. The 2010-11 Dew Cup champions include Louie Vito (men’s snowboard superpipe), Kelly Clark (women’s snowboard superpipe), Torstein Horgmo (men’s snowboard slopestyle), Jamie Anderson (women’s snowboard slopestyle), Kevin Rolland (ski superpipe) and Bobby Brown (ski slopestyle).The Winter Dew Tour continues its commitment to progression in action sports, with premier superpipes and the highest level slopestyle courses.

FEATURED: Gretchen Bleiler | Iouri Podladtchikov | Louie Vito | Shaun White | Xuetong Cai | Breckenridge |