for all your snowboarding needs

Follow On Social Media

Winter Dew Tour Nike Open Slopestyle Results And Highlights



Snowboarding News | Monday December 19, 2011 | Shared By: Francesca Basile

Gjermnund Braaten and Spencer O'Brien Top Slopestyle Podiums at the Winter Dew Tour Nike Open in Breckenridge CO

First Stop of 2011-12 Season Closes at Breckenridge Ski Resort with Record Spectator Crowds. The Winter Dew Tour Nike Open wrapped up today in Breckenridge with slope finals that were full of surprises.  Spencer O'Brien kicked off the day with her first place spot in the women's comp, while reigning champ Jamie Anderson failed to make the podium.  Gjermund Braaten found success in his first Dew Tour Finals, landing the highest scored slopestyle run in Winter Dew Tour history.

2009 Dew Cup champion Spencer O’Brien enjoyed her first victory since the 2010 season, taking the top spot in the women’s slopestyle finals at the Nike Open.  O’Brien led the field after her first run and improved on her second with a 90.75, more than 10 points higher than the nearest competitor.  Her run of frontside boardslide into frontside lipslide, followed by a backside 540 melon, switch backside 540 mute, into a 50-50 backside 180 and switch backside 180 mute, finished off with a huge frontside 720 indy, impressed the crowd and judges alike.  Enni Rukajarvi, 79.50, and Sarka Pancochova, 72.00, took second and third respectively. O’Brien was both excited and relieved to return to familiar territory atop the podium.
“I’m so excited to win in Breck.  The first contest I won was here in the first year of the Dew Tour.  It feels really good to be back on top in Breck.  I’m really looking forward to Snowbasin.  I’m feeling good going forward,” said O’Brien.
Norway’s Germund Braaten took home a victory in slopestyle snowboarding at the Nike Open in Breckenridge, Co., the first of three stops on the Winter Dew Tour.  Braaten, who was competing in his first final on the Dew Tour, bested a field of the top names in slopestyle snowboarding with a technical and stylish run that pleased the crowd on-hand here in Breck.  Braaten started off his run with a switch back tail 270, cab boardslide to front boardslide to fakie, into a switch backside double cork 1080 and cab double cork 9 followed by frontside 180 into the wallride with a 180 off, finishing with a backside double cork 1080 and frontside double cork 1080, to score a 97.75, the highest slopestyle score in Dew Tour history.   Sebastien Toutant, 96.00, and Charles Reid, 90.00, took second and third respectively on the first slopestyle podium of the season.  After suffering a shoulder injury at last year’s Nike Open here in Breckenridge, Braaten made the most of his return.
“I couldn’t even imagine this.  I’m just really happy to put my run down and I’m excited to see where the winter takes me from here,” said Braaten after the win.
You can catch all of the final runs from today’s top finishers here. Live action from today’s contests can be watched on Versus, starting with tonight’s airing from 1:00-2:00am. Full broadcast schedules for the Nike Open and the full 2011-12 season can be found online. The four-day competition is the first stop on the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour season featuring men and women’s snowboarding and freeskiing disciplines. Over the four-day event, approximately 35,000 fans experience the Winter Dew Tour’s Nike Open at Breckenridge Ski Resort, with the largest pipe spectator attendance in Breckenridge Winter Dew Tour history.
For more information on the Dew Tour, visit

Winter Dew Tour Nike Open
Breckenridge, Colo.
Dec. 15-18, 2011
Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final Results
1. Gjermund Braaten, Norway, 97.75.  2. Sebastien Toutant, Canada, 96.00.  3. Charles Reid, Canada, 90.00.  4. Chas Guldemond, Reno, Nev., 86.75.  5. Mikkel Bang, Norway, 84.00.  6. Sage Kotsenburg, Park City, Utah,, 81.25.  7. Mark McMorris, Canada, 75.25.  8. Torstein Horgmo, Norway, 59.50.  9. Eric Willett, Breckenridge, Colo., 43.25.  10. Sam Hulbert, Peterborough, N.H., 32.25  11. Sondre Tiller, Norway, 29.00.  12. Seppe Smits, Belgium, 26.00.
Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle  – Tour Rankings
1. Gjermund Braaten, 100.  2. Sebastien Toutant, 90.  3. Charles Reid, 82.  4. Chas Guldemond, 76.  5. Mikkel Bang, 72.  6. Sage Kotsenburg, 68.  7. Mark McMorris, 64.  8. Torstein Horgmo, 60. 9. Eric Willett, 56.  10. Sam Hulbert, 52.
Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final Results
1. Spencer O’Brien, Canada, 90.75.  2. Enni Rukajarvi, Finland, 79.50.  3. Sarka Pancochova, Czech Republic, 72.00.  4. Rebecca Torr, New Zealand, 64.75.  5. Jamie Anderson, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 59.25.  6. Charlotte Van Gils, Netherlands, 56.50
Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle  – Tour Rankings
1. Spencer O’Brien, 100.  2. Enni Rukajarvi, 90.  3. Sarka Pancochova, 82.  4. Rebecca Torr, 76.  5. Jamie Anderson, 72.  6. Charlotte Van Gils, 68. 7. Stefi Luxton, 64.  8. Sina Candrian, 60.  9. Silvia Mittermueller, 56.  10. Silje Norendal, 52.

Event                                          Date                 Location
Nike Open                                  Dec. 15-18       Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.
Pantech Invitational                   Jan. 19-22         Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.          
Toyota Championships              Feb. 9-12          Snowbasin Resort – Ogden,Utah
Entering its fourth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the eight disciplines. The 2010-11 Dew Cup champions include Louie Vito (men’s snowboard superpipe), Kelly Clark (women’s snowboard superpipe), Torstein Horgmo (men’s snowboard slopestyle), Jamie Anderson (women’s snowboard slopestyle). The Winter Dew Tour continues its commitment to progression in action sports, with premier superpipes and the highest level slopestyle courses.
FEATURED: Breckenridge |